The 29th Annual ACLI Capital Challenge

2009 Award Winners

Individual Winners
1st Male - Overall Neal Hannan On Your Markman (US Crt of Appeals for Federal Circuit 15:58
1st Female - Overall Eve Newman LamBORN to Run (Representative Doug Lamborn) 19:09
1st Senator - Male Senator John Thune Thunatics 19:47
1st Senator - Female Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison Hutchison's Herd on the Hill 39:32
1st Rep. - Male Representative Bart Gordon Dash Gordon 18:49
(Mike Synar Award)      
1st Rep. - Female Representative Jean Schmidt Fast As Schmidt 23:11
1st Agency Head - Male Secretary Ray LaHood U.S. DOT, Kicking Ass-phalt 36:30
1st Sub-Cabinet - Male Mark Bologna Vets R Us (Dept of Veteran's Affairs) 20:15
1st Sub-Cabinet - Female Pamela Harbour  Federal Tread Commission (Federal Trade Commission) 30:27
1st Fed.Judge - Male Judge Craig Iscoe Rocket Dockets (D.C. Superior Court) 23:40
1st Print Journalist-Male Eric Anderson All the News That's Fit to Sprint (Washington Post Express) 17:11
1st Print Journalist-Female Kelly Field Chronzi Scheme (Chronicle of Higher Education) 20:09
1st Electronic Journ.-Male Jon Hamilton Will Run for T-Shirt (NPR) 19:36
1st ElectronicJourn.-Female Carla Babb We Need a Time Stimulus (VOA) 24:08
AGE Groups      
1st Capt. 60+ Male Rep. Bart Gordon Dash Gordon 18:49
2nd Capt 60+ Male Jim Abrams Live Wires I (AP) 21:23
3rd Capt 60+ Male Rep Jim Marshall Last But Not Least 22:13
4th Capt 60 + Male Colin Norman Rapidly Advancing Science (Science Magazine) 23:39
1st Capt 70+ Male Judge John Ferren Courting Disaster (DC Court of Appeals) 27:20
2nd Capt 70+ Male Arden Bement Research on the Run (National Science Foundation) 40:06
3rd Capt 70+ Male Sen Richard Lugar 28 Years and Running 42:10
1st Capt 60+ Female Courtenay Mullen KipJoggers (Kiplingers) 28:30
2nd Capt 60 + Female Representative Jane Harman Tapped Out 30:41
3rd Capt 60 + Female Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison Hutchison's Herd on the Hill 39:32
4th Capt 60 + Female Margaret Kennedy We Need a Time Stimulus (VOA) 42:17
Overall Team Winner Dash Gordon Representative Bart Gordon  
Winning Teams      
1st Senate Team 28 Years and Running Senator Richard Lugar   
2nd Senate Team Ensign's Ensigns Senator John Ensign  
1st House Team Dash Gordon Representative Bart Gordon   
2nd House Team Shock and Abs Representative Aaron Schock  
1st Executive Branch Team Army Strong U.S. Army  
2nd Executive Branch Team Federal Tread Commission Federal Trade Commission  
1st Print Media Team Running for Covers National Geographic  
2nd Print Media Team Chronzi Scheme Chronicle of Higher Education  
1st Electronic Media Team Will Run for T-shirt NPR  
2nd Electronic Media Team Fair and New Balanced Fox News Channel  
1st Judicial Team On Your Markman D.C. Court of Appeals for Federal Circuit  
2nd Judicial Team Rocket Dockets D.C. Superior Court  
Team Name Winners      
Best Named Team Tapped Out Representative Jane Harman  
2nd Best Name Chronzi Scheme Chronicle of Higher Education  
3rd Best Name Talk of Pronation  NPR  
Worst Named Team      
(James B. Kenin Award-1st) Team With No Name Washington Post  
2nd Worst Name O Little Team From Bethlehem Representative Charles Dent  
3rd Worst Name Lukken Good Commodity Futures Trading Commission  
Best Spirit Washington Post Express