For more information, please contact:

Jeff Darman
ACLI Capital Challenge
110 East State Street #15
Kennett Square, PA 19348
Tel: 610-925-1976


Thirty-Seven Members of Congress Lead Teams in Annual Capital Tradition

April 26, 2007

Twelve US Senators and twenty-five Representatives will lead teams in the annual ACLI Capital Challenge®, a three mile road race. The race takes place on Wednesday, May 2 at 8:00 a.m. in Washington , D.C. ’s Anacostia Park . For a brief period, competitors will run away from Presidential candidate bad hair days, immigration bills, Alberto Gonzales and other distractions, and address the serious task of determining who is the fittest: the Legislative, Executive or Judicial branches of government, or the media who cover them.

Senator Richard Lugar (R-IN) will compete for the 26th straight year, never having missed a race.  Joining him will be several congressional committee chairmen,  Veterans Affairs Secretary Jim Nicholson and several other agency heads, over two dozen on-air reporters, eleven federal Judges, print journalists.  DC Mayor Adrian Fenty is a guest entrant.

While several past participants were deemed ineligible by the voters, defending  champions Representative Bart Gordon (D-TN), fastest man in Congress; Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX), long-time female Senate champ; and Senator John Sununu (R-NH), last year’s fastest Senator, are entered.  Senator John Ensign (R-NV) will be attempting to win back his Senate Championship from incumbent Senator Sununu; the two have traded the title for the last few years.  In addition, former Congressional champ, Jane Harman (D-CA) returns in hopes to regaining her title as fastest woman in Congress from Representative Shelley Moore-Capito (R-WV).  IRS Commissioner Mark Everson again filed his entry late, but leads his team, “Take the Money and Run,” and will sport the number 1040. 

On hand to help celebrate the 26th running of the race and get the runners on their way as official “whistle blower” will be 2007 celebrity runner Kathrine Switzer.  Switzer was the first woman to officially enter the Boston Marathon, won the 1974 New York Marathon, is an Emmy award-winning television commentator and was a leader in making the women’s marathon an official event in the Olympic Games (1984).  She’s the author of a new memoir, “Marathon Woman: Running The Race To Revolutionize Women’s Sports.”

Team captains in this event are not honorary positions.  Each must finish the three-mile course for their team to score.  The event shows even the busiest people can take time out to stay physically fit.  All entry fees go to DC Special Olympics, as does an additional donation from the title sponsor ACLI (American Council of Life Insurers) and other sponsors ING, MetLife, Northwestern Mutual, the Principal Financial Group, Swiss Re, Qwest Communications and Roll Call.

Competition for the prestigious Best and James B. Kenin Worst Team Name honors remains intense. 

Some noteworthy entrants:   



Corn-yn the USA Senator John Cornyn (R-TX)
Just for the Halibut Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)
Red, White and Blumenauer Representative Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)
Bad News Barretts  Representative J. Gresham Barrett (R-SC)
The RoadDENTs Representative Charles Dent (R-PA)
The LiSPRINTskis  Representative Dan Lipinski (D-IL)
Weapons of Mass Reduction John Higgins (NLRB)
Gut and Run David Sands ( Washington Times)
Loose Lips Can’t Sink Scripps    David Nielsen (Scripps-Howard)
Race the Nation Bill Plante (CBS News)
Walk of the Nation   Neal Conan (NPR)
35 U.S.C……ya   Judge Randall Rader (US Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit)

The course is an out and back, riverfront course in Anacostia Park (just over the Sousa Bridge-Pennsylvania Ave. ).  

Editors Note:  For media information, call Jeff Darman at 610.925.1976, 703.875.8717 (April 28 – May 2) or 610.299.4436 (cell).  The ACLI Capital Challenge starts at 8:00 a.m. in Anacostia Park near the Roller Rink.  Directions to the site may be downloaded from www.capitalchallenge.com.   (Entries are closed.)

Click Here for a List of Captains and VIPs